openresolv
5 months agoHarden the locking mechanism
Roy Marples [Sun, 27 Dec 2020 14:11:05 +0000 (14:11 +0000)]
Harden the locking mechanism

If there is no pidfile, assume one should be created within 5 seconds.
If still no pidfile, assume stale directory and clear up.

While here, discard some stderr as we only lock on mkdir so getting
a blank or none existant pidfile is possible - but unlikely 5 times
hence the above.

5 months agoFix prior so its called deprecated internally to match man page
Roy Marples [Wed, 23 Dec 2020 22:32:58 +0000 (22:32 +0000)]
Fix prior so its called deprecated internally to match man page

5 months agoAllow interfaces to be Deprecated
Roy Marples [Wed, 23 Dec 2020 22:07:23 +0000 (22:07 +0000)]
Allow interfaces to be Deprecated

resolvconf -C interface.*
This will deprecate all matching interfaces.

resolvconf -c interface.*
This will re-activate all matching interfaces.

Generally some OS's support the concept of persisting the IP address
when the carrier drops (NetBSD) or wireless roaming (Linux).
In this situation, resolvconf needs to persist the DNS as well but
it needs to ensure that any active interface then takes precedence.

5 months agoWhitespace and style
Roy Marples [Wed, 23 Dec 2020 20:31:40 +0000 (20:31 +0000)]
Whitespace and style

5 months agomkdir -p is just like install -d
Roy Marples [Wed, 23 Dec 2020 20:26:57 +0000 (20:26 +0000)]
mkdir -p is just like install -d

8 months agobump date for prior
Roy Marples [Thu, 1 Oct 2020 10:02:43 +0000 (11:02 +0100)]
bump date for prior

8 months agofix typo in manpage (#1)
Michaël Defferrard [Thu, 1 Oct 2020 09:30:25 +0000 (11:30 +0200)]
fix typo in manpage (#1)

10 months agoRelease openresolv-3.11.0 openresolv-3.11.0
Roy Marples [Wed, 22 Jul 2020 13:09:00 +0000 (14:09 +0100)]
Release openresolv-3.11.0

10 months agoDocument mdnsd and avahi
Roy Marples [Wed, 22 Jul 2020 13:06:58 +0000 (14:06 +0100)]
Document mdnsd and avahi

10 months agoAdd support to notify avahi-daemon and mdnsd of resolv.conf changes
Roy Marples [Wed, 22 Jul 2020 12:30:55 +0000 (13:30 +0100)]
Add support to notify avahi-daemon and mdnsd of resolv.conf changes

16 months agoRelease openresolv-3.10.0 openresolv-3.10.0
Roy Marples [Mon, 27 Jan 2020 21:03:13 +0000 (21:03 +0000)]
Release openresolv-3.10.0

17 months agoDon't use allow/deny configuration when listing known interfaces.
Roy Marples [Tue, 14 Jan 2020 08:03:09 +0000 (08:03 +0000)]
Don't use allow/deny configuration when listing known interfaces.
This should only be used for the actual processing of the information.

17 months agoAdd allow_interfaces and deny_interfaces configuration options
Roy Marples [Tue, 14 Jan 2020 07:06:24 +0000 (07:06 +0000)]
Add allow_interfaces and deny_interfaces configuration options

Does what it says on the tin.
For example it could be used on routers where DHCP contains
DNS setup which should be ignored as it rolls it's own and you
can't change the DHCP not to setup DNS.

17 months agoWelcome to 2020!
Roy Marples [Tue, 14 Jan 2020 06:53:17 +0000 (06:53 +0000)]
Welcome to 2020!

17 months agoAdd WireGuard interfaces to dynamic_order
nl6720 [Mon, 13 Jan 2020 17:33:08 +0000 (17:33 +0000)]
Add WireGuard interfaces to dynamic_order

21 months agopds_recursor is in section 1.....
Roy Marples [Thu, 19 Sep 2019 07:45:34 +0000 (08:45 +0100)]
pds_recursor is in section 1.....

21 months agoconfigure: DragonFly has the same flaw as FreeBSD openresolv-3.9.2
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 20:36:27 +0000 (21:36 +0100)]
configure: DragonFly has the same flaw as FreeBSD

21 months agoRelease openresolv-3.9.2
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 20:01:27 +0000 (21:01 +0100)]
Release openresolv-3.9.2

21 months agoman: spelling
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 20:01:17 +0000 (21:01 +0100)]
man: spelling

21 months ago2019
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 19:51:53 +0000 (20:51 +0100)]
2019

21 months agoman: Use .Bd rather than .D1
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 19:42:09 +0000 (20:42 +0100)]
man: Use .Bd rather than .D1

So we can embed tabs and have mandoc not complain.
This is probably the better markup anyway.

21 months agoman: Fix a mandoc warning
Sascha Wildner [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 19:05:40 +0000 (20:05 +0100)]
man: Fix a mandoc warning

21 months agobuild: Add import-src target
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 18:04:09 +0000 (19:04 +0100)]
build: Add import-src target

21 months agoresolvconf.conf(5): Document pdns_recursor
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 18:03:51 +0000 (19:03 +0100)]
resolvconf.conf(5): Document pdns_recursor

21 months agoIgnore pdns_recursor
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 18:03:10 +0000 (19:03 +0100)]
Ignore pdns_recursor

21 months agoIgnore pdns_recursor
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 18:02:29 +0000 (19:02 +0100)]
Ignore pdns_recursor

21 months agopdns_recursor: Fix global forwarders
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 18:01:22 +0000 (19:01 +0100)]
pdns_recursor: Fix global forwarders

This actually makes it useful now and is finally included in
the default installation.

21 months agoCorrect issue with dragonfly libexecdir
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 16:35:18 +0000 (17:35 +0100)]
Correct issue with dragonfly libexecdir

21 months agoconfigure: dragonfly oddly defaults to /usr/libexec
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 14:47:43 +0000 (15:47 +0100)]
configure: dragonfly oddly defaults to /usr/libexec

Requries /usr mounted ofc. Seems they don't support a NFS root.

21 months ago2019
Roy Marples [Sun, 8 Sep 2019 14:44:26 +0000 (15:44 +0100)]
2019

21 months agodnsmasq: Clear cache when DBus is used
Daniel Letkiewicz [Sat, 7 Sep 2019 09:06:27 +0000 (10:06 +0100)]
dnsmasq: Clear cache when DBus is used

Otherwise, when a VPN tunnel is down all record received from DNS
server exposed via the tunnel stay in the dnsmasq cache.

23 months agoFix import target
Roy Marples [Wed, 17 Jul 2019 17:08:23 +0000 (18:08 +0100)]
Fix import target

23 months agoFix making distinfo openresolv-3.9.1
Roy Marples [Wed, 17 Jul 2019 16:53:18 +0000 (17:53 +0100)]
Fix making distinfo

23 months agoRelease openresolv-3.9.1
Roy Marples [Wed, 17 Jul 2019 16:49:42 +0000 (17:49 +0100)]
Release openresolv-3.9.1

23 months agoBelated welcome to 2019
Roy Marples [Wed, 17 Jul 2019 16:49:09 +0000 (17:49 +0100)]
Belated welcome to 2019

23 months agoAdd a newline at the end of the default config.
Roy Marples [Wed, 17 Jul 2019 16:46:09 +0000 (17:46 +0100)]
Add a newline at the end of the default config.

23 months agoDon't embed variables in formatting string.
Roy Marples [Wed, 17 Jul 2019 16:11:38 +0000 (17:11 +0100)]
Don't embed variables in formatting string.

23 months agoRemove pointless {} from prior.
Roy Marples [Tue, 9 Jul 2019 14:19:32 +0000 (15:19 +0100)]
Remove pointless {} from prior.

23 months agoresolvconf: Strip inline comments before processing
Roy Marples [Tue, 9 Jul 2019 14:10:36 +0000 (15:10 +0100)]
resolvconf: Strip inline comments before processing

23 months agoFix original resolvconf configuration layout
Einar Jon Gunnarsson [Tue, 7 May 2019 15:13:00 +0000 (16:13 +0100)]
Fix original resolvconf configuration layout

Path to original resolvconf configuration changed from
/etc/resolvconf/resolv.conf.d/resolv.conf.d to
/etc/resolvconf/resolv.conf.d

Signed-off-by: Einar Jon Gunnarsson <tolvupostur@gmail.com>
2 years agoInterfaces have an implicit metric of 0.
Scott Barker [Tue, 13 Nov 2018 15:02:44 +0000 (15:02 +0000)]
Interfaces have an implicit metric of 0.

2 years agoshell [ ] only supports 4 parameters
Roy Marples [Tue, 13 Nov 2018 14:53:18 +0000 (14:53 +0000)]
shell [ ] only supports 4 parameters

Using a fifth paramter or more is unspecified.

3 years agoPOSIX shell does not require the local builtin
Roy Marples [Sat, 20 Jan 2018 21:18:01 +0000 (21:18 +0000)]
POSIX shell does not require the local builtin

And sadly soe ksh variants don't support it.
As openresolv strives to be portable, stop using local.

3 years agoRemove .arcconfig, I've abandoned Phabricator.
Roy Marples [Sat, 20 Jan 2018 20:31:55 +0000 (20:31 +0000)]
Remove .arcconfig, I've abandoned Phabricator.

4 years agoAdd LICENSE.
Roy Marples [Fri, 24 Mar 2017 16:24:29 +0000 (16:24 +0000)]
Add LICENSE.

4 years agoAdd an .arcconfig file to hook arcanist with phabricator.
Roy Marples [Fri, 24 Mar 2017 12:51:45 +0000 (12:51 +0000)]
Add an .arcconfig file to hook arcanist with phabricator.

4 years agoTrailing dot
Roy Marples [Tue, 14 Mar 2017 22:18:47 +0000 (22:18 +0000)]
Trailing dot

4 years agoImprove for 80 chars
Roy Marples [Tue, 14 Mar 2017 22:16:31 +0000 (22:16 +0000)]
Improve for 80 chars

4 years agoAdd more blurb.
Roy Marples [Tue, 14 Mar 2017 22:13:39 +0000 (22:13 +0000)]
Add more blurb.

4 years agoAdd .gitignore.
Roy Marples [Tue, 14 Mar 2017 21:58:34 +0000 (21:58 +0000)]
Add .gitignore.

4 years agoSprinkle some markdown.
Roy Marples [Tue, 14 Mar 2017 21:57:09 +0000 (21:57 +0000)]
Sprinkle some markdown.

4 years agoRelease openresolv-3.9.0 openresolv-3.9.0
Roy Marples [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 21:55:44 +0000 (21:55 +0000)]
Release openresolv-3.9.0

4 years agoAdd the inclusive_interfaces option to resolvoconf.conf to ignore the
Roy Marples [Thu, 29 Dec 2016 21:51:22 +0000 (21:51 +0000)]
Add the inclusive_interfaces option to resolvoconf.conf to ignore the
exlusive marking for the listed interfaces.

4 years agoFix runit support, [b04ffa58a4].
Roy Marples [Tue, 29 Nov 2016 11:28:40 +0000 (11:28 +0000)]
Fix runit support, [b04ffa58a4].

4 years agoAllow public_interfaces config variable to override private interface markings.
Roy Marples [Tue, 29 Nov 2016 11:21:43 +0000 (11:21 +0000)]
Allow public_interfaces config variable to override private interface markings.

4 years agoRemove distinfo files before making them and keep distinfo in signed result.
Roy Marples [Sat, 5 Nov 2016 14:04:26 +0000 (14:04 +0000)]
Remove distinfo files before making them and keep distinfo in signed result.

4 years agoAdd the distinfo target, from dhcpcd.
Roy Marples [Fri, 4 Nov 2016 15:45:19 +0000 (15:45 +0000)]
Add the distinfo target, from dhcpcd.

4 years agoAppend a newline when restoring resolv.conf.
Roy Marples [Tue, 13 Sep 2016 15:11:09 +0000 (15:11 +0000)]
Append a newline when restoring resolv.conf.
Thanks to Mike Gilbert.

4 years agopdns_recursor needs the same restart command treatment.
Roy Marples [Mon, 1 Aug 2016 19:24:57 +0000 (19:24 +0000)]
pdns_recursor needs the same restart command treatment.
Thanks to Guy Yur.

4 years agoAdd the --version command and document it.
Roy Marples [Fri, 8 Jul 2016 20:08:20 +0000 (20:08 +0000)]
Add the --version command and document it.
Fixes [85e873671a].

5 years agoRelease openresolv-3.8.1 openresolv-3.8.1
Roy Marples [Thu, 19 May 2016 10:36:35 +0000 (10:36 +0000)]
Release openresolv-3.8.1

5 years agoDrop needless ;
Roy Marples [Thu, 19 May 2016 10:35:35 +0000 (10:35 +0000)]
Drop needless ;

5 years agoRevert prior.
Roy Marples [Thu, 19 May 2016 09:32:36 +0000 (09:32 +0000)]
Revert prior.

5 years agoFix private_interfaces globbing
Roy Marples [Thu, 19 May 2016 09:29:59 +0000 (09:29 +0000)]
Fix private_interfaces globbing

5 years agoFix systemd control, [f18f46ab5a].
Roy Marples [Fri, 13 May 2016 10:44:24 +0000 (10:44 +0000)]
Fix systemd control, [f18f46ab5a].

5 years agoSpelling corrections, thanks to Pedro.
Roy Marples [Sat, 7 May 2016 01:52:52 +0000 (01:52 +0000)]
Spelling corrections, thanks to Pedro.

5 years agoMan page updates from Thomas Klausner.
Roy Marples [Thu, 28 Apr 2016 14:43:33 +0000 (14:43 +0000)]
Man page updates from Thomas Klausner.

5 years agoFor FreeBSD, the status argument needs to be onestatus. openresolv-3.8.0
Roy Marples [Sat, 12 Mar 2016 08:32:49 +0000 (08:32 +0000)]
For FreeBSD, the status argument needs to be onestatus.

5 years agoMove the version from Makefile to resolvconf.in
Roy Marples [Fri, 11 Mar 2016 20:00:44 +0000 (20:00 +0000)]
Move the version from Makefile to resolvconf.in

5 years agoRemove debug
Roy Marples [Fri, 26 Feb 2016 15:55:21 +0000 (15:55 +0000)]
Remove debug

5 years agoNote that named does not work with openresolv for SIGHUP.
Roy Marples [Thu, 25 Feb 2016 21:09:19 +0000 (21:09 +0000)]
Note that named does not work with openresolv for SIGHUP.

5 years agoRevert [606cfc2003] as the parsing code relies on the trailing newline.
Roy Marples [Thu, 25 Feb 2016 20:55:43 +0000 (20:55 +0000)]
Revert [606cfc2003] as the parsing code relies on the trailing newline.

5 years agoSplit each domain again after striping any trailing dot.
Roy Marples [Thu, 25 Feb 2016 20:08:52 +0000 (20:08 +0000)]
Split each domain again after striping any trailing dot.
Fixes [1e6ac67eb3].

5 years agoUpdate copyrights
Roy Marples [Wed, 24 Feb 2016 20:21:28 +0000 (20:21 +0000)]
Update copyrights

5 years agoNote why we may need to restart dnsmasq.
Roy Marples [Wed, 24 Feb 2016 20:21:18 +0000 (20:21 +0000)]
Note why we may need to restart dnsmasq.

5 years agoNote why we restart a service
Roy Marples [Wed, 24 Feb 2016 20:20:50 +0000 (20:20 +0000)]
Note why we restart a service

5 years agoDon't echo a trailing newline when listing resolv.conf contents.
Roy Marples [Wed, 24 Feb 2016 20:17:28 +0000 (20:17 +0000)]
Don't echo a trailing newline when listing resolv.conf contents.

5 years agoFix restarting services on OpenBSD.
Roy Marples [Wed, 24 Feb 2016 17:16:46 +0000 (17:16 +0000)]
Fix restarting services on OpenBSD.

5 years agoOnly pass RESTARTCMD and RCDIR from configure and not source environment.
Roy Marples [Tue, 23 Feb 2016 21:23:58 +0000 (21:23 +0000)]
Only pass RESTARTCMD and RCDIR from configure and not source environment.

5 years agoImprove wording.
Roy Marples [Tue, 23 Feb 2016 21:20:47 +0000 (21:20 +0000)]
Improve wording.

5 years agoMove init system detection from configure to resolvconf.
Roy Marples [Tue, 23 Feb 2016 21:18:17 +0000 (21:18 +0000)]
Move init system detection from configure to resolvconf.
resolvconf -r service can now restart a service, resolvconf -R will show how.

This allows a user to have OpenRC and/or SystemD alongside their base init
system and resolvconf will pick the one that is actually in use.
This, of course, can be overriden per subscriber.

5 years agosystemctl (part of systemd) is noisy and returns non zero for non existant
Roy Marples [Tue, 23 Feb 2016 10:10:07 +0000 (10:10 +0000)]
systemctl (part of systemd) is noisy and returns non zero for non existant
services with the try-restart command.
As such, we need to test for the service being active before restarting it.
Fixes [d1049584dc].

5 years agoRelease openresolv-3.7.3 openresolv-3.7.3
Roy Marples [Mon, 22 Feb 2016 09:57:22 +0000 (09:57 +0000)]
Release openresolv-3.7.3

5 years agoImprove the wording for quoting variables and point to an example of quoting
Roy Marples [Sun, 21 Feb 2016 11:50:07 +0000 (11:50 +0000)]
Improve the wording for quoting variables and point to an example of quoting
used within this man page.
Fixes [af3df51a80].

5 years agoStrip trailing dot from search and domain names, fixes [2b60f8c312].
Roy Marples [Sat, 20 Feb 2016 10:34:57 +0000 (10:34 +0000)]
Strip trailing dot from search and domain names, fixes [2b60f8c312].

5 years agoSave the initial working directory and change to it just before running
Roy Marples [Fri, 22 Jan 2016 10:30:21 +0000 (10:30 +0000)]
Save the initial working directory and change to it just before running
any scripts.
This avoids scripts putting files accidently where they shouldn't.

5 years agoRelease openresolv-3.7.2 openresolv-3.7.2
Roy Marples [Thu, 29 Oct 2015 14:20:21 +0000 (14:20 +0000)]
Release openresolv-3.7.2

5 years agoRemove TMPDIR as it's now unused and seems to cause problems in other
Roy Marples [Thu, 29 Oct 2015 10:04:25 +0000 (10:04 +0000)]
Remove TMPDIR as it's now unused and seems to cause problems in other
applications if non-existant.
Fixes [1fa2b79b6d], thaks to Sem.

5 years agoRelease openresolv-3.7.1 openresolv-3.7.1
Roy Marples [Tue, 29 Sep 2015 08:42:48 +0000 (08:42 +0000)]
Release openresolv-3.7.1

5 years agoClarify that private_interfaces="*" will not forward the root zone.
Roy Marples [Sat, 26 Sep 2015 12:13:55 +0000 (12:13 +0000)]
Clarify that private_interfaces="*" will not forward the root zone.
Fixes [32b100fdb6].

5 years agodomain-insecure should appear in a server clause.
Roy Marples [Sat, 26 Sep 2015 11:47:47 +0000 (11:47 +0000)]
domain-insecure should appear in a server clause.
Fixes [5d2e2c0e3b] thanks to Anonymous.

6 years agoChange from bzip2 to xz for builiding the source tarball.
Roy Marples [Tue, 19 May 2015 09:03:04 +0000 (09:03 +0000)]
Change from bzip2 to xz for builiding the source tarball.

6 years agoBump date for prior.
Roy Marples [Thu, 14 May 2015 19:40:03 +0000 (19:40 +0000)]
Bump date for prior.

6 years agoTypo's, thanks to Herbert Parentes Fortes Neto <hpfn@ig.com.br>.
Roy Marples [Thu, 14 May 2015 19:36:22 +0000 (19:36 +0000)]
Typo's, thanks to Herbert Parentes Fortes Neto <hpfn@ig.com.br>.

6 years agoFix year
Roy Marples [Fri, 1 May 2015 18:23:40 +0000 (18:23 +0000)]
Fix year

6 years agoFix import
Roy Marples [Fri, 1 May 2015 18:18:12 +0000 (18:18 +0000)]
Fix import

6 years agoRelease openresolv-3.7.0 openresolv-3.7.0
Roy Marples [Fri, 1 May 2015 18:11:09 +0000 (18:11 +0000)]
Release openresolv-3.7.0

6 years agoFix bash again.
Roy Marples [Tue, 28 Apr 2015 14:52:00 +0000 (14:52 +0000)]
Fix bash again.

6 years agoFix prior for bash.
Roy Marples [Tue, 28 Apr 2015 08:46:38 +0000 (08:46 +0000)]
Fix prior for bash.

6 years agoObtain a spinlock earlier due to exclusivity.
Roy Marples [Tue, 28 Apr 2015 08:21:46 +0000 (08:21 +0000)]
Obtain a spinlock earlier due to exclusivity.